The Trophies originally instituted by late Sri V.K.Dhage, the father of the Competitions, were replaced in 1965, by Sri Ch.V.P.Murtiraju (then M.L.A. and later Minister) with FIVE Silver Rolling Trophies each with about a Kg of Silver and got them done artistically and to the specifications, by the famous sculptor late H.V.Ramgopal of the Madras School of Arts and crafts.

These Trophies which are awarded to the winners of First prize in all Senior Section, were named THE NIRANJAN SHAW ROLLING TROPHIES to commemorate the memory of the late Niranjan Shaw, who as the Secretary of the YMCA in the old Hyderabad State did pioneering work for the spread of fine arts when these were considered not respectable.

Later, the Directorate of Youth Services of Government of AndhraPradesh and late Smt.Tehminabai Dhage, instituted two more Trophies.

Dr. Nataraja Ramakrishna, who has devited his life for revival and popularsing old and traditional dance forms, has instituted another Trophy for ANDHRA NATYAM being introduced from 1992.

iYuga@2008 All rights Reserved